packing for work-related travel: a minimalist and zero-waste guide.

This week I am off to Atlanta, Georgia for a conference, where I’m going to be giving my first talk! If you’ve been to a conference or convention before, you probably know how much waste is generated during your travels (and traveling in general). This will be part one of several blog posts walking you through how to navigate work-related travel. Here are my tips for zero-waste and minimalist packing success!

Before I start packing.

  1. Check the weather. Hopefully, you’re going to a place with a nicer climate than where you live. Regardless, check the weather or you’ll end up without a raincoat stuck in a torrential downpour in your nice suit. Check the weather before you start packing so you can make your packing list appropriately. Check the weather the day before you leave
  2. Create a packing list. A packing list will save you from over-packing, packing the wrong things, and forgetting something you need. Personally, I have an “ultimate packing list” checklist and I adapt it depending on my trip. Having an ultimate packing list helps you list out all the possible things you might want to bring with you. There are tons of templates online!
  3. Make sure you travel documents are in order. This one should be a no-brainer. Make sure your ID/Passport aren’t expired. Additionally, go digital. Take some time to acquire digital copies of your itinerary/hotel and flight confirmations, check-in for your flight online, and consider saving a digital copy of your travel documents in case you lose something. Save everything in a place you can access without internet!

What I’m packing.

I will be gone for 3 nights/4 days. I’m expecting weather in the 50’s and 60’s (Fahrenheit). I’m also expecting some rain.

I’m flying Spirit Airlines, so it was cheaper to check my bag in. However, everything I’m bringing can fit in my carry-on allowance. I have an Osprey Porter 46 backpack that I highly recommend to anyone in need of a carry-on/travel bag. It’s very spacious, has many compartments, is well built, good back support, and straps on the front to compress the bag if it’s not full or when it’s in storage. I also bring a purse to conferences because work clothes don’t have very good pockets.

In my Osprey I pack (regardless of if it’s being checked in or carried on):

Clothing. Go for lightweight, versatile clothing that goes well together. Consider clothing you might get away with wearing for two days (I like wool for this) or multiple occasions (the work event and the after party!)I organize all my clothing in a packing cube – it keeps everything organized. One of the packing cubes I have doubles as a laundry bag – it handles wet clothes and holds in odors.

 

  1. 3 t-shirts.
  2. 1 button up
  3. 1 suit jacket/blazer
  4. One dress. From Amour Vert – a sustainable clothing company!
  5. One pair of black jeans
  6. 1 pair dress pants
  7. 1 raincoat
  8. 1 scarf. Doubles as a blanket on the plane and in the chilly conference hall!
  9. 1 pair sunglasses
  10. 4 pairs underwear
  11. 1 bra
  12. 4 pairs socks
  13. 1 pair flats
  14. 1 pair boots
  15. Pajamas

A note on dressing: Wear what you feel comfortable in. People will notice if you wear a dress or tie and don’t feel you. You’ll be more comfortable if you put your own spin on conference attire. 

Toiletries. Do not be stuck using the toiletries at the hotel as they’re often packaged in plastic. Opt for solid products when you can. Otherwise, reuse old packaging/sample jars to bring smaller versions of your liquids. I am packing liquids in my Stasher bag.

IMG_E2775
My toiletries with my Stasher bag in the background. 

 

  1. Solid shampoo bar in tin.
  2. Solid body soap in tin
  3. Bamboo toothbrush
  4. Tooth powder.
  5. Contacts + case + solution
  6. Glasses + case
  7. Hairbrush
  8. Menstrual cup
  9. Skincare. I put all my skincare in little sample containers I’ve accumulated. Please be sure to check the seal as sample containers sometimes leak!
    1. Cleanser
    2. Toner
    3. Facial oil
    4. Lotion
    5. Deodorant. I use primal pit paste, which unfortunately does have a plastic ring around the jar lid. I think meow meow tweet might not!
  10. Make-up. My make-up comes in completely recyclable packaging! Consider purchasing a z-palette/compact to store make-up pans in. All my make-up is solid so no need to worry about your liquid allowance!
    IMG_E2776
    My make-up

     

    1. Foundation – Kjaer Weis. Comes in refills!
    2. Blush – Kjaer Weis
    3. Highlighter (which I also use on my eyes) – RMS
    4. Mascara – Keeping it Natural
    5. Lipstick – RMS
    6. Makeup brushes

Electronics. Most are in my purse/lap carry on (see below).

  1. Dongle. If you’re presenting a powerpoint, be sure to have a dongle with you!
  2. Portable charger. You’ll be wanting to tweet about all those cool talks you’re seeing afterall.

 Miscellaneous.

  1. Fountain Pen. Here are some tips to avoid any problems!
  2. Notepad. Okay so this isn’t zero-waste, but I hate to be a jerk taking notes on my phone. Consider using a tablet to take notes.
  3. Cloth napkins/handkerchief. Perfect for wiping your hands after eating, blowing your nose, and cleaning up any messes.
  4. Produce bags + shopping bag. Rather than take-out, hit up a grocery store to stock up on some food.
  5. Snacks. Consider packing some snacks for your travels to avoid a trip to the vending machine. Some great ideas are chocolate, nuts, homemade granola bars, and dried fruit. I prefer to put mine in cloth baggies so it doesn’t add extra weight.
  6. Conference badge. If you have the badge holder from a previous conference you attended bring it back with you and ask if you can just have the paper slip with your name printed on it. This will reduce lots of plastic waste over the years! Be sure to clear this with the people you’re checking in with so you don’t end up getting kicked out of the conference as badges are used to identify people who have registered.
  7. Poster + poster tube. Remember this counts as a carry-on!
  8. Business cards.

IMG_E2788.JPG

In my purse/lap item, I pack:

  1. Lunchbox/mason jar. Bring a meal on the plane to avoid gross, packaged airplane food. Also great for take-out, packing lunch to the conference.
  2. Silverware. Avoid plastic cutlery!
  3. bottle/thermos. Avoid buying bottled water or coffee/tea in disposable cups! Empty for security.
  4. Cloth napkins. Say no to disposable paper napkins!
  5. Electronics. I put all my chargers and headphones in a pouch/stasher bag.
    1. Phone + Charger
    2. Computer + charger
    3. Reading device. This might be your computer, tablet, or Kindle. This is preferable to a heavy book.
    4. Headphones
    5. Adapter (when traveling abroad)
  6. Wallet

Make sure you have what you need for your flight. Refuse anything the flight attendant offers you because most things get thrown right in the trash.

The final product of my minimal, zero-waste packing:

 

IMG_E2787.JPG
See how much the Osprey bag collapsed? I’m probably using 1/2 the allotted space. The boots & suit will be worn on the plane.

 

 

 

 


Leave a comment